New Home Sweet Home

blabbingwisefully:

15 years ago today I arrived to the US on a work visa, which makes this 17 years away from Iraq for me. When I arrived here I had all my family back in Iraq (my entire big extended family – not only parents and brothers) with zero plans  to get out except for probably 5 people who were scattered between the US ,Europe and Australia.
Fast forward 15 years of seeking refuge and forced migrations, now we are everywhere but Iraq.
We consider our-selves the lucky Iraqis -despite the fact there is nothing lucky about people who built everything in a country then 60 years later forced to leave (my parents generation) and  start again in a completely new environment.  The Syrian refugee crisis that is getting coverage now is exactly what Iraqis generally went through over the last 15 years. It was not on twitter. Not many videos were created in support of that cause. People who died never had funds for them. Those who spoke were quickly labeled Anti-American since that disaster has America’s hands all over it. Yet we now we happily call America home and have been rebuilding our lives here. The main reason for being able to escape this, is that we don’t mix politics with survival. We love our new home because its beautiful and it’s a place for us to complain about first world problems like normal people do.
In this month another milestone will happen, my mom and dad will become American citizens. They studied so hard (I freaking have no idea how they managed it so cleverly since they seem like totally dependent on me when they are in a foreign setting) but I love that they did so amazingly.

All the above to shows you that  what you see on TV with people migrating, are very real stories behind each and every case. Yes some may be full of shit and never wanna adapt, but mostly there are a lot of stories resulting in amazing new stories. I am so proud of my brother Oc & Ghaith who both, despite the huge changes, made the leap and both are now not only working hard but also practicing their passion through photography professionally.
My cousins are amazing in so many ways, from setting up a great track and stable lives Safaa , Ismail , Fayrouz , Karam, Ann, Sarah, Hussam, Wissam Ziad, Nehal,  Raghad , Anmar . Sinan and many other who will hate me for not mentioning but I made the idea.  Another mention should go to my amazing cousin Firas in Holland, who not only learned Dutch and proved himself but is on the steps to become an amazing surgeon. I think his only fault in life is that he supports Manchester United. Also I have to mention Duried Qazazie who is working on his PhD. and have been using his smartness to go to conferences in cool places. 

All those people, among many other family members, were forced out of their homes and found new homes and working hard to make it. Think of how many more are hidden in the migrations waves. Love them and help them be your new family. They love you as much as you love them.

This map shows how far we are scattered around the world. We were mostly in Baghdad.  

Author: Laith Yousif

Baghdad born techie, Aspiring Writer, and Comic

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started